Lympstone History Society


The main purpose of the history society is to look after the village’s growing historical archive collection, and to disseminate its contents for the benefit of the community.

We usually hold regular talks and occasional events and exhibitions to help us fund our activities, as well as producing a number of publications. Our events are advertised on the village website and on our notice board under the railway arch (below Lympstone Station).


We operate a lifetime membership scheme for a flat-rate one-off payment of £10 (ten pounds). This entitles members to receive:

  • a reduced entry fee when attending our talks and events
  • our e-newsletter
  • email reminders of our talks and events
  • access to our archive store for research purposes (by arrangement)

We are always keen to welcome new members, and for people to get involved with our projects, and with the running of the history society. If you would be interested in getting involved, please contact us.

Membership application form 


The Lympstone History Society archive is a repository of historical information about Lympstone and its people, and we utilise its contents for our projects and publications. These include paintings, photographs, documents, maps, books and indentures as well as some artefacts. We are always grateful for donations to our small archive, and we ask that you give us as much information as possible about any items you donate to us, particularly approximate dates of photographs and the names of people. The archive can be accessed by our members free of charge.

Accessing the archive 

Our collections policy 

Projects and publications

We work on projects to expand and share our knowledge of village history, like our new History Points project, and the starting point will be our notice board (under the railway arch below Lympstone Station).

Our publications can be purchased at our events, and some are stocked in Susannah’s Tea Room. You can also order by emailing us at .

Our publications 

Contact us at

Jenny Moon (Chair), Graham Banks (Treasurer), Mary Turner (Secretary), Brian Cotton (Programme Coordinator), Gary McNulty, John Munro.

Pin It on Pinterest